Skip to main content

Digital Scholarship: Overview

The CCS Digital Scholarship (DS) Unit

Digital Scholarship (DS), as a unit of the College for Creative Studies Libraries, transforms the classroom and research experience of faculty, students, and staff through the building, curation, and management of digital image collections, web publishing platforms, and library outreach technologies. The DS unit is responsible for selecting and locating appropriate high-resolution imagery, developing comprehensive metadata, providing digital asset infrastructure, management, and preservation, understanding all relevant standards, and serving as a reference for matters pertaining to copyright law. Depending on the scope, purpose, and function of new digital collections and/or web publishing platforms, the DS unit guides the process of, or fully engages in, their development.

Location and Hours

DS is located in the CCS Main Library on the Ford Campus. Office hours are 9:00 am - 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday by appointment or for drop-by inquiries. The team can also be reached via email. Contact Amy Lazet at alazet@collegeforcreativestudies.edu or Marian Lambers at lambers@collegeforcreativestudies.edu.

Login to CCS Luna Image Collections

Luna login: click HERE (use your Blackboard credentials)
Recently added images: click HERE (login required)

Established Initiatives

CCS Images for Teaching and Research, DS’ inaugural, curriculum-driven digital image collection, was started in 2004. Taking the place of the College’s analog slide collection, it has grown to approximately 90,000 high resolution, cataloged images. This collection continues to be fully curated by the DS staff, including research, selection, applying all pertinent standards, and complete management of back-end functions.

The DIA Collection is an on-going collaboration involving the Data Asset Managers at the Detroit Institute of Arts. Coordinating this effort involves bringing DIA images and cataloging into agreement with CCS DS imaging and cataloging standards, and the established Luna software schema. This collection integrates with all collections available for classroom teaching and individual research at CCS. All backend functions are the responsibility of the DS unit.

The Select Student Work Repository features the very best work created by CCS students covering the last four years for marketing and publication purposes. Curated and refreshed annually by department chairs, this effort involves a number of CCS staff. The DS unit is responsible for making sure imagery and metadata conforms to established specifications, fine-tunes image formats and cataloging as needed, uploads all material, and manages all database operations.

The Student Work Archive collection holds the best work done by CCS students, dating back to 2004.

Library Website Management: The DS staff administrates backend functions of the Library website and ensures consistency in infrastructure, content, and design.

College for Creative Studies website