chat loading...
Skip to Main Content

MFA: Systems Design Thinking: Search for an Article

Article Databases

Academic articles often will not appear on websites searched by Google because they are stored in subscription-only databases that provide limited access. However, CCS subscribes to a number of databases that are useful to Systems Design Thinking students.

For a complete list of Systems Design Thinking databases, click HERE.
For a complete list of all databases, click HERE.

Design Methodology

Suggested search terms:

  • Systems design
  • Design thinking
  • Lateral thinking
  • Scenario design or modeling
  • Critical uncertainties
  • Critical inquiry
  • Participatory design
  • Co-creation

Stakeholder Research

Suggested search terms:

  • User patterns and behaviors
  • Data-driven design
  • User-centered design
  • Target behaviors
  • User interaction with systems
  • Observational research
  • Preferred solutions
  • Trust in design

Incorporating Feedback

Suggested search terms:

  • User-centered design solutions
  • Human-centered design
  • Service design
  • Market oriented design
  • User system interaction
  • Feedback loop
  • Living design
  • Adaptive design
  • Iterative design

Periodicals for Systems Design Thinking

Flipster provides digital access to a selection of the Library's print periodicals. Both mobile and computer friendly, users can read current and (limited) past issues.

EBSCO is a database that provides digital access to many journals, and some specific titles that may be of interest to Systems Thinking Design students are listed above. In order to search for journals individually, after "All Databases" proceed to "Select all" > "continue" > "Advanced Search" (under the search bar) > change "Select a Field" to "SO Source" > type in the journal title.

Values in Design

Suggested search terms:

  • Stakeholder values
  • Value-driven design
  • Social, environmental, cultural, or ethical values in design
  • Stakeholder input
  • Global citizenship


Image from "The Design Thinking Process – How does it work?"
 by Karl S. Published April 20, 2020. Retrieved from MAQE
 December 18, 2020.
 
College for Creative Studies website