chat loading...
Skip to Main Content

Fashion Design: Internet Resources

Timelines & History

Fashion History Dictionary - From the Fashion Institute of Technology, this site provides definitions and visuals, as well as the history, for specific types of clothing such as frogging or bum rolls.

Fashion History Timeline - The Timeline features written entries on specific artworks, garments, and films for those interested in fashion and dress history, offering links to digitized fashion plate collections, fashion periodicals, and etiquette books held by libraries and museums across the world.

Global Dress & Fashion Timeline - This timeline from Bloomsbury provides information on fashion and intersecting fields, from the ancient world through today (CCS credentials required). 

Kyoto Costume Institute Collection - This museum site features hundreds of images of clothing and accessories, and can be browsed by time period/decade.

We Wear Culture - From Google Arts & Culture, this site provides the stories behind what we wear, featuring over 30,000 works of fashion from around the world, curated into over 450 interactive stories.

Victoria and Albert Museum: Fashion Features - These articles and audiovisual essays cover the gamut, from the history of underwear to Art Deco fashion to fashion and sustainability.

Runway

Vogue Runway - From the iconic fashion magazine comes this collection of current fashion shows, ranging from Balenciaga to Louis Vuitton.

Alexander McQueen Fashion Shows - This site provides access to the most recent fashion show from Alexander McQueen alongside an archive of past shows.

WGSN - CCS community members can view runway shows from around the world via the Library's subscription to WGSN Fashion (CCS credentials required).

Podcasts

Dressed: The History of Fashion - A podcast hosted by fashion historians, the topics range from interviews with fashion photographers to explorations of a specific type of clothing to socioeconomic backgrounds.

Business of Fashion Podcast - This weekly podcast from Business of Fashion features interviews with some of the biggest names in the business while providing a 360 degree perspective with special focus on culture.

OMONDI Presents: The Cutting Room Floor - From designer Recho Omondi, this podcast focuses on fashion on a deeper socio-political level. Topics range from whether fashion criticism is still relevant nowadays to the lack of diversity in the industry.

Audio Tour of the Bata Shoe Museum - Although not a podcast, this virtual tour is comprised of audio accompanied by pictures and takes the audience through exhibits at the Bata Shoe Museum.

News Sites

The following sites provide up-to-date information about the world of fashion and other relevant fields.

College for Creative Studies website