chat loading...
Skip to main content

Illustration: Internet Resources

 

Flower Mecha by Angie Wang, 2011

Consider the Source

The internet provides open access to a tremendous amount of information, including peer reviewed, scholarly material.  However, be mindful of your sources. Consider the following:

Authority - Who is the author? What is their point of view?

Purpose - Why was the source created? 

Publication & Format - Where was it published? 

Relevance - How is it relevant to your research? 

Date of Publication - When was it written? 

Documentation - Did they cite their sources? 

Information from University of California Berkeley Library's "Evaluating Resources" guide.

Online Resources

Illustration History: Genres - From the Norman Rockwell Museum, this site divides illustration into a variety of genres, from advertising to comic books to moving images and features illustrations, artist biographies, and scholarly essays.

Women Who Draw - This site is an open directory of female (women, trans, and gender non-conforming) professional illustrators, artists, and cartoonists.

Directory of Illustration - Art buyers, art directors, and creative directors discover outstanding artists for commercial assignments through the Directory of Illustration.

Anime and Manga Studies - This site provides many resources related to anime and manga studies, including an annual bibliography, commentary on trends, announcements and news in the field, and new publication highlights.

History of Children's Book Illustration - Although far from comprehensive, this well-researched overview of the history of children's book illustration focuses primarily on specific series and illustrators.

Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum - Housed at The Ohio State University, this is the world’s largest collection of materials related to cartoons and comics.

British Cartoon Archive - This archive holds the artwork for over 200,000 British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons from the last 200 years, supported by large collections of comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books, and magazines.

College for Creative Studies website