chat loading...
Skip to Main Content

Art Education: Images & Videos

Guide for tudents in Art Education to resources available through and vetted by the Library

Internet Video Sources

Art21 - Premiering a new season every two years, Art:21 is the only series on United States television to focus exclusively on contemporary visual art and artists.

UbuWeb - UbuWeb is a large web-based educational resource for avant-garde material available on the internet, founded in 1996 by poet Kenneth Goldsmith. It offers visual, concrete, and sound poetry, expanding to include film and sound art mp3 archives.

Video Data Bank TV (VDB TV) - From the School of the Art Institute of Chicago comes VDB TV, a project providing free, online streaming access to curated programs of video and media art. Sourced from the historically significant archives of the Video Data Bank, VDB TV includes work from early video pioneers active in the 1960s and 70s through to emerging contemporary artists.


Classroom by Will Ryman, 2015

CCS Luna Image Collections

The Luna Image Collections contain over 50,000 twentieth century images, and over 25,000 twenty-first century images, making it a prime site for the Art Education student. Everyone with CCS credentials has access.

Artstor Open Access Images

The Artstor Public Collections (not to be confused with the Artstor subscription collection) are a freely accessible library of images and other media. All of these collections have been made available by the institutions that manage them in order to allow broader access. The Artstor Public Collections are a great resource to use in your classroom instruction. 

Library DVD Collection

The CCS Library has a number of DVDs available for your use. Some are available for checkout, others can be viewed inside of the Library (closed reserve). Search the Library catalog by subject, title, or author.

College for Creative Studies website