chat loading...
Skip to Main Content

English: Search for an Article

General Databases

These databases should be used to find articles drawn from searching a variety of online journals on many topics.

For a complete list of all CCS databases, click HERE.

Reference Databases

These databases should be used to find background information on your topic.

Ways of Searching

There are a variety of ways you can search within the databases; see below for some suggestions.

  • Country
  • Time period
  • Genre (Poetry, Fiction, Drama, etc.)
  • Movement (Romanticism, Surrealism, etc.)
  • Author
  • Individual Work Title
  • Themes (Plots, Satire, Intertextuality, Women and Literature, Semiotics and Literature, etc.)

Argumentative Databases

Ideal for DEN 108: Composition II: The Art of Argument, these databases should be used as a starting point for researching both sides of a debated issue. While these articles will provide a good basis for your preliminary research, you should plan on doing further research on your topic outside of the databases in this box (see "General Databases").

Periodicals

Available in the periodical section of the Library, current issues of these magazines can be perused within the physical Library (older issues may be checked out):

Fairy Tale Review
Fiction
Mid-American Review
Mosaic: An Interdisciplinary Critical Journal​

Flipster provides digital access to a selection of the Library's print periodicals, including New Criterion, North American Review, Poetry, and many more. Both mobile and computer friendly, users can read current and (limited) past issues.

College for Creative Studies website