Skip to main content

Art History: Images & Videos

Image Collections

Luna Image Collections

The CCS Images for Teaching Group includes CCS Images for Teaching and Research and The Detroit Institute of Arts Image Collection which are controlled in-house. Subscription and open source collections include the AMICA Library and the Pratt Fashion Plate Collection, among others. The Luna collections contain over 50,000 twentieth century images, and over 25,000 twenty-first century images, making it a prime site for art students. All in the CCS community with Blackboard credentials have access. Important reference information is attached to the images (metadata), making this resource a great starting point for your research.

For more information, visit the Digital Scholarship guide.

 

Artstor Public

The Artstor Public Collections (not to be confused with the Artstor subscription collection) are a freely accessible library of images and other media. All of these collections have been made available by the institutions that manage them in order to allow broader access. 

Library Video Collection

The CCS Library has a rich variety of DVDs for teaching and general audience viewing. This includes art historical themes, artists, movements, design history, and more. Many can be checked out by students and staff. There is also a closed reserve DVD collection set apart for classroom use. Check the Library catalog for titles.  

Streaming Video

UbuWeb - This site is a large, web-based educational resource for avant-garde material, founded in 1996 by poet Kenneth Goldsmith. It offers visual, concrete, and sound poetry, expanding to include film and sound art mp3 archives, as well as written work.

Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) - The EAI collection of over 3,500 works spans the mid-1960s to the present, and is recognized as one of the most comprehensive video art collections in the world. The works in the collection range from seminal videos by pioneering figures - such as Nam June Paik, Bruce Nauman, Martha Rosler and Joan Jonas - to new digital works by emerging artists, including Seth Price, Paper Rad, Cory Arcangel and Takeshi Murata (login required).

Smarthistory - Smarthistory is on a mission to open up museums and cultural sites to the world, one video at a time. They're creating world-class resources on art and cultural objects for learners from around the globe, for free.

College for Creative Studies website