The easiest way to search for a book is the online Library catalog. Searchable by title, author, subject, or keyword, the online catalog provides all the information you need to find a book. Make sure you're spelling your search terms correctly, but don't hesitate to contact the Library staff or see the video on searching the catalog (click HERE) for more assistance.
To search the catalog, click HERE.
The Library provides access to many eBook titles that can be read right from your computer. Conduct a search specifically for eBooks in the following databases:
Books are useful for providing comprehensive coverage, broad overviews, and general introductions to a topic of inquiry. The following are areas that may interest students of Art History and Visual Culture:
N Visual Arts, General - Includes: Theory, Museums, Special Subjects, Public Art
NC Illustration, Design, Drawing
NK Decorative Arts
NX Arts in General
PN Performing Arts, Motion Pictures, Film
Monograph - a specialized work of writing (in contrast to reference works) on a single subject or an aspect of a subject, often by a single author, and usually on a scholarly subject.
Catalogue Raisonné - a comprehensive, annotated listing of all the known works of an artist either in a particular medium or all media. A database of published raisonnés can be found HERE.
Exhibition Catalog - a printed book produced to accompany a temporary exhibition or installation at a gallery or alternative space. It documents the contents of an exhibition, providing a forum for critical dialog between curators, artists, and critics.
Anthology - a collection of writings in similar form from a similar time, or about a similar subject manner, but by various authors.
Reference - a book containing useful facts or specially organized information, such as an encyclopedia or dictionary. It is often a good starting point for conducting research.
Textbook - or "survey" text, offers basic, accepted facts, research, theories, or knowledge about a particular subject that is typically used by or required knowledge for people studying that subject.
Artist's Book - a medium of artistic expression that uses the form or function of “book” as inspiration. It is the artistic initiative seen in the illustration, choice of materials, creation process, layout, and design that makes it an art object.