chat loading...
Skip to main content

Art Practice: Images & Videos

CCS Luna Image Collections

Luna Image Collections Login

The Luna collections contain over 50,000 twentieth-century images, and over 25,000 twenty-first century images which makes it a prime site for the Art Practice student. All in the CCS community with Blackboard credentials have access.

Important reference information is attached to the images (metadata), making this resource a great starting point for your research.

 

Cannabis and Spirituality, from the Libraries series by Lisa Anne Auerbach, 2018 (Luna metadata)

Artstor Open Access Images

The Artstor Public Collections (not to be confused with the Artstor subscription collection) are a freely accessible library of images and other media. 

Library DVD Collection

The CCS Library has a number of videos that can add to the Art Practice student's overall knowledge of modern and contemporary artists and trends. Some are available for checkout, others can be viewed inside of the Library (closed reserve). Search the Library catalog by subject, title, or author.

Internet Video Sources

Art21 - Premiering a new season every two years, Art21 is the only series on United States television to focus exclusively on contemporary visual art and artists.

UbuWeb - UbuWeb is a large web-based educational resource for avant-garde material available on the internet, founded in 1996 by poet Kenneth Goldsmith. It offers visual, concrete, and sound poetry, expanding to include film and sound art mp3 archives.

Franklin Furnace Digital Collections and Archives - From Pratt Institute, this archive consists of audiovisual documentation of art events, such as performance art, presented or supported by Franklin Furnace.

Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) - The EAI collection of over 3,500 works spans the mid-1960s to the present, and is recognized as one of the most comprehensive video art collections in the world. The works in the collection range from seminal videos by pioneering figures - such as Nam June Paik, Bruce Nauman, Martha Rosler and Joan Jonas - to new digital works by emerging artists, including Seth Price, Paper Rad, Cory Arcangel and Takeshi Murata (login required).

College for Creative Studies website