The Library provides access to many eBook titles that can be read from your computer. Conduct a search specifically for eBooks in the following databases:
EBSCO Academic eBooks
Art & Architecture ePortal
Many eBooks are also in the Library's catalog, and directions for accessing them can be found HERE.
Browsing the print book collection is a great way to discover new artists and concepts to bring back into your studio practice. The following areas are recommended for browsing:
N Visual Arts, General
NC Illustration, Design, Drawing
You can also use the online Library catalog to search for books on a topic. Searchable by title, author, subject, or keyword, the catalog provides all the information you need to find a book. If you don’t find what you are looking for, ask the Library staff for help.
Search the catalog HERE.
Monograph - a specialized work of writing (in contrast to reference works) on a single subject or an aspect of a subject, often by a single author, and usually on a scholarly subject.
Catalogue Raisonné - a comprehensive, annotated listing of all the known works of an artist either in a particular medium or all media. A database of published raisonnés can be found HERE.
Exhibition Catalog - a printed book produced to accompany a temporary exhibition or installation at a gallery or alternative space. It documents the contents of an exhibition, providing a forum for critical dialog between curators, artists, and critics.
Anthology - a collection of writings in similar form from a similar time, or about a similar subject manner, but by various authors.
Reference - a book containing useful facts or specially organized information, such as an encyclopedia or dictionary. It is often a good starting point for conducting research.
Textbook - or "survey" text, offers basic, accepted facts, research, theories, or knowledge about a particular subject that is typically used by or required knowledge for people studying that subject.
Artist's Book - a medium of artistic expression that uses the form or function of “book” as inspiration. It is the artistic initiative seen in the illustration, choice of materials, creation process, layout, and design that makes it an art object.