chat loading...
Skip to Main Content

Detroit: History

A guide with resources on Detroit, including its history, culture, and data and data visualizations.

Detroit: Past and Present

pictured: Detroit Fire Engine Company 22, 1892 and 2012

Detroiturbex documents the past, present and future of the City of Detroit, delving into the rise, fall and regeneration of the city and how it got that way.

Detroit's Civil Unrest

12th Street Detroit
This digital exhibit from the Reuther Library at Wayne State University uses primary source documents to explore the history of the race riots in Detroit.

People, Places & Events

Encyclopedia of Detroit
From the Detroit Historical Society, this encyclopedia has historical information on people, places and events in Detroit.

Selected Resources

CCS Library Sources:
Library Books
The CCS Library has many resources specifically related to Detroit; to further narrow the search, use "Topics" under "Refine your search" on the left side.

Luna Images: Detroit
This group features outdoor art and graffiti around Detroit as well as some notable installations such as the DIA murals (you will need to login with your CCS ID in order to view the images).

JSTOR Open
The openly accessible portion of JSTOR has thousands of articles on Detroit, many of which focus on the history (use the "Refine Results" to narrow by subject, etc.).

EBSCO
This multidisciplinary database has information on all facets of Detroit. You will need to login with your CCS ID; once you have executed a search, you will be able to narrow your results with the "Refine Results" options on the left side (don't forget to select "Full Text").

Buildings:
Preservation Detroit: How to Research an Historic Property
For researching a specific building, Preservation Detroit is a good place to begin - they have a page with helpful links to get you started!

Historic Detroit
Providing pictures of notable and historic buildings throughout Detroit, this site also has information about the architect and the building's location on a map.

Detroit: The History and Future of the Motor City
This site features everything from buildings and cemeteries to public art and historic districts and landmarks. It also includes a list of historic sites in Detroit's racial history.

Images:
Virtual Motor City Collection
This photojournalistic collection primarily documents the city of Detroit from the late 19th century through the 1980s.

National Automotive History Collection
A collection held at the Detroit Public Library, these images focus on the history of cars and carmakers in Detroit.

College for Creative Studies website