Skip to main content

Home: Local Libraries

Detroit Institute of Arts

CCS students are allowed access to the DIA Research Library. To view the Library’s catalog, click HERE. Students must enter at the Kirby (north) door and show proper CCS ID. Appointments must be made prior to your visit by calling (313) 833-3460.

The DIA's Research Library & Archives have been critical to serving the scholarly activities of the museum. The collection contains more than 191,000 volumes, 300 periodical titles, and 5,000 cubic feet of archival material in a variety of formats. Resources include DIA publications, auction catalogs, catalogues raisonnés, national and international museum publications, artist monographs, and finding aids for the archival collections.

Wayne State University Libraries

(Purdy-Kresge Library, David Adamany Undergraduate Library, Neef Law Library, and Schiffman Medical Library)

You may use books in the Library free of charge. To access the WSU Library catalog, click HERE. Registered CCS students may check out a maximum of three books at a time from Wayne State University Libraries with an InfoPass. You must get this pass from a CCS Library staff member and show your current CCS ID to get it. You need to decide which books you want prior to getting your InfoPass. Otherwise, to obtain a WSU Library card, present a picture student ID card and pay an annual fee at their circulation desk. There is a replacement fee for lost Library cards. The loan period is 28 days, after which you will be charged $0.25 per day, per book. CCS students may use guest research terminals, which grant users one hour of access to WSU databases.

For current information on Library hours, please click HERE.

Detroit Public Library

You may get a free library card for DPL by presenting proof of attendance at a Detroit school (current registration schedule) and a government-issued photo ID (driver's license or state ID). There is a replacement fee if you lose your card. The loan period is 21 days for books and seven days for DVDs. More information about DPL policies can be found HERE.

The National Automotive Historical Collection has separate hours; they are open Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays. Access to the collection is by appointment only. Their phone number is (313) 833-1456.

Internet Archive Library

Internet Archive is a non-profit, digital library with millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Like a physical library, they provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. They have over 20 years of web history accessible through the Wayback Machine and work with over 625 libraries and other partners through the Archive-It program to identify important web pages. Click HERE to visit the Internet Archive Library and make an account.

Today their archive contains:

  • 330 billion web pages
  • 20 million books and texts
  • 4.5 million audio recordings (including 180,000 live concerts)
  • 4 million videos (including 1.6 million television news programs)
  • 3 million images
  • 200,000 software programs
College for Creative Studies website