Skip to main content

Home: Archive

Overview

The College for Creative Studies Archive has four types of records:

  • Institutional History
  • Local Art History
  • Personal Papers (persons associated with the College)
  • Samples of Student Work

The Archive is located at the College for Creative Studies Library in the Manoogian Visual Resource Center at 301 Frederick Douglass Dr., Detroit, MI 48202. 

At this time, a small number of our collections have been fully processed and the finding aids for those collections are publicly searchable in the right hand column of this page. They will help you to determine if we have materials that will help you with your research.

The Personal and Professional Papers of Dr. Dorothy Kostuch are also housed in the Archive as well as many historical, institutional images. These collections are currently unprocessed and can only be referenced in special circumstances and as staffing allows.

For the Accession Form, Collection Policy, Deed of Gift, Duplication Policy, Records Intake, and Reading Room Guidelines, click HERE.

Accessing Archival Materials

An appointment is required to access the archives; contact Amy Seipke to arrange for a visit.

Please review the Reading Room Guidelines and Duplication Policy documents HERE before setting up your appointment and be ready to sign them upon arrival.

Donating Material

Please contact Amy Seipke to discuss donation details; at this time, only internal donations will be considered. These will require a completed Records Intake Form. All archives forms are located HERE.

Finding Aids

Other Sources of Historic Information

A selection of historic photographs and records from CCS (1906-1982) can be found online in the collections of the Archive of American Art.

Art and a City: A History of the Detroit Society of Arts & Crafts by Joy Hakanson Colby
Call Number: Closed Reserves
Publication Date: 1956
History of the College for Creative Studies

Many of the early figures in CCS's history are also connected with Cranbrook and have left papers in the care of their archives. These can be found at their website: Cranbook Center for Collections and Research.

College for Creative Studies website