Skip to main content

Visual Resources: Overview

Located in the Ford Campus Library, Visual Resources manages the content of digital image databases for teaching and research purposes using LUNA software.

LUNA Login

Announcement: LUNA has a new look that makes navigation easier.  However, please DO NOT HESITATE TO ASK US FOR HELP if you find LUNA features in unfamiliar places.  We are here during regular office hours (8-4).  And, as always, your questions, requests, and suggestions are our top priority.  (313) 664-7643 or (313) 664-7629.

Welcome to CCS Visual Resources

Visual Resources, located in the CCS Ford Campus Library, manages the content of digital image collections with over 300,000 images for teaching, research, and browsing. Our software, referred to as Luna, also allows the user to pull in images from Flickr, enabling personal collections to be included in classroom presentations.

Office Hours  8:15 – 4:30, Monday through Friday. 

Image Collection Groups – Our digital image databases consist of over twenty-five smaller collections. Most notably, CCS Images for Teaching contains over 80,000 images (the number grows weekly) and resides permanently on a local server. AMICA, a very large subscription database, is a consortium of 21 museums that supplies approximately 100,000 high-resolution images via the internet; the DIA Collection features images and information directly from the Detroit Institute of Arts. All use the Luna software interface that organizes the images and allows the user to search the collections separately or simultaneously. 

Quality – Visual Resources is committed to scanning, purchasing, or negotiating use of the highest quality images available. By comparison, images downloaded from the Internet are typically low resolution and appear fuzzy when projected onto a large classroom screen. We are also dedicated to adding useful information in the cataloging structure for more in-depth research.

Restrictions – In order to protect the rights of our providers (artists, photographers, museums, and vendors), image use must be restricted to educational purposes. Faculty must sign an agreement in order to download images.

Student Use – Students are encouraged to use Luna for study and classroom presentations. They can access the collections using their Blackboard login and password.

Help – For image content questions and search help, contact Marian Lambers at 664-7643 or Amy Lazet at 664-7629. Our offices are in the Ford library, so feel free to stop by. See also “Do It Yourself” training.

 

        

         201 E. Kirby  *   Detroit, MI  *   48202-4034

Areas of Specialization

Art History, Visual Culture, Contemporary Fine Arts, Design History, Data Asset Management, Image Metadata, Digital Imaging, Digital Preservation

Visual Resources Curator

Marian Lambers's picture
Marian Lambers
Contact:
(313) 664-7643

Visual Resources Specialist

Amy Lazet's picture
Amy Lazet
Contact:
(313) 664-7629